Resources

LAWS PERTAINING TO SLED DOG WELFARE:

PROVINCIAL LAW:


Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act (PCA Act)

The Sled Dog Standards of Care Regulation

 

OTHER:

Animal Legal Defence Fund: http://aldf.org/

Animal Cruelty Legislation Advocates: http://www.aclacanada.org/about-acla-canada

Terry’s Law: http://www.terryslaw.ca/

Animal Justice: http://www.animaljustice.ca/

Animal Law in Canada: http://www.animallaw.ca/

Petfinder advice: https://www.petfinder.com/helping-pets/animal-cruelty/animal-protection-laws/

 

WHY CHAINING IS CRUEL:

See scientific papers referenced under the Health and Welfare Page.

Articles by Dr. Dobias:

Thyroid Gland Disease May Be Related to Collar Injuries:
http://peterdobias.com/blogs/blog/15103717-thyroid-gland-disease-may-be-related-to-collar-injuries

One Jerk Can Cause A Lot of Damage:
http://peterdobias.com/blogs/blog/11017353-one-jerk-can-cause-a-lot-of-damage

BC SPCA Anti-tethering campaign http://www.spca.bc.ca/animal-issues/campaign-issues/tethered-dogs.html?referrer=https://www.google.ca/

American Humane Society Chaining/Tethering Facts http://www.humanesociety.org/issues/chaining_tethering/facts/chaining_tethering_facts.html?referrer=https://www.google.ca/

Unchain Your Dog: http://unchainyourdog.org/

Coalition to Unchain Dogs: http://www.unchaindogs.net/

The Backyard Dog Project: http://www.thebackyarddogproject.com/facts-about-chained-dogs

Fences for Fido: http://www.fencesforfido.org/

 

SLED DOG ADVOCATES:

Humane Mushing: http://humanemushing.com

Sled Dog Action Coalition: http://helpsleddogs.org/

Sled Dog Watchdog: https://sleddogwatchdog.wordpress.com/

Voices for the Sled Dogs: https://www.facebook.com/Voices-for-the-Sled-Dogs-265661965842/?fref=ts

 

DOGSLEDDING INDUSTRY GUIDELINES:

World Sled Dog Association Ethics Paper: http://www.wsa-sleddog.com/wsaweb/2015/index.php/en/animal-welfare/ethics-paper

Mush with P.R.I.D.E. Guidelines (International Sled Dog Racing Association, ISDRA): http://www.nwtspca.com/uploads/4/4/8/1/4481371/3rd_edition_guidelines_mushers.pdf


TRAINING and BEHAVIOURAL LEARNING RESOURCES:

Dr. Sophia Yin: https://drsophiayin.com/

Patricia McConnell, PhD, Learning Center: http://www.patriciamcconnell.com/learning-center

Nando Brown, In the Doghouse: https://www.youtube.com/user/InTheDoghouseDTC